McDowell County Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
McDowell High School teachers and students in chef outfits

MHS Culinary Students

Eastfield Global Magnet School Students in front of the school

Eastfield Global Magnet School

McDowell High School students working on Chromebooks
East McDowell Middle School students at the Outer Banks


McDowell County Schools Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year

Superintendent's Message

MCS Family,
As we approach the Independence Day holiday and the end of the fiscal year, I would like to thank everyone for a very successful 2016-2017 school year. We are very pleased with this past year and even more excited about the year ahead. I hope that every student, parent, volunteer, and staff member is already engaged in a most enjoyable summer. Relax, recharge, and be prepared for a great start to the 2017-2018 school year in just a few weeks!
Mark Garrett

News & Announcements

YMCA Afterschool at McDowell County Schools

McDowell County Schools partners with the YMCA of Western North Carolina to provide afterschool care for local elementary school students.

YMCA Afterschool helps families make sure their kids get extra support, ongoing learning, and a chance to be a part of meaningful activities that can inspire and motivate them to succeed in school and life. Benefits include tutoring, homework help, individualized attention, healthy snacks, and outdoor play.

Eligible Students
McDowell County students enrolled in grades K-5 at Eastfield, Glenwood, Marion, Nebo, North Cove, Old Fort, Pleasant Gardens, and West Marion Elementary Schools.

Choose from a three-day or five-day plan, or the year-round value package that includes summer camps.

Year-round child care is available at Eastfield, Old Fort, and Pleasant Gardens before school, after school, during breaks, and when school is closed for teacher work days or snow days.

YMCA Afterschool runs from the time school is dismissed until 6 p.m.
All students are considered for financial assistance to help offset the price of child care. The typical student on the five-day afterschool plan in McDowell County pays $7.30 a day after working with the YMCA Business Center on a program that works for their family. Call 828 251 5910 to ensure that you get a program designed to meet the needs of your family.

Thanks to the generous support of the Corpening Memorial Foundation, community donors, and a grant from the Kate B. Reynolds Foundation, the Y has scholarships available for any child registering for the McDowell County afterschool program.

The YMCA’s Afterschool Program is licensed through the North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education and accepts state subsidy vouchers.

Register on the YMCA of WNC website or call 828 251 5910 to schedule a time with an enrollment navigator.

Once you complete the registration process, a representative from the YMCA Business Center will contact you to discuss the available options and to schedule time for you to turn in paperwork.

Bring all forms, including immunization records and a current color photo of your child, to your registration appointment.

If you have any questions, please call the YMCA Business Center at 828 251 5910.

Operation Backpack

Operation Backpack is getting ready to start up ​for the ​19​th year. Please help us to get the information out to the community.

Last summer, Operation Backpack assisted 802 students with back to school supplies during summer distribution.

This year, School supplies will be available at the AEC "GYM" for McDowell County School students, K-12, July 24th - August 10th; Monday - Thursday 9am - 4pm. (Eastfield will have supplies available at Meet The Teacher/Open House on July 12th for their students in need.) Supplies will ONLY be available during the summer on these days. If unable to come during these days and times, supplies will be available at each school when school starts. Please see the school Counselor, Principal, or your student's teacher to request school supplies once school starts.

Backpack Summer Distribution Information: 2011-2016
Number of students assisted during summer distribution:

Year # of Students
2011 (631)
2012 (855)
2013 (623)
2014 (646)
2015 (740)
2016 (802)

This direct student assistance was only possible because of our giving and caring community!

Originally organized in 1998 and administrated by the Endowment Fund of the Public Schools of McDowell County, the goal of Operation Backpack is to provide all underprivileged children in McDowell County Public Schools with a new backpack and school supplies. Through the gracious giving of our community and others, school supply assistance has been provided directly to over 600 McDowell County School students each year. It is our wish that no child returns to school without the necessary supplies. Although the majority of the supplies are distributed during the a few weeks prior to school starting, Operation Backpack is a year-round project and will supply students all year when needs arise. Supplies that are given to students include, but are not limited to: Backpacks, 3 ring binders, notebook paper, spiral notebooks, pocket folders, erasers, ballpoint pens, pencils: #2 & colored, 24 count crayons, glue- bottles & sticks, safety scissors, markers, and pencil boxes/pouches.

Supplies and monetary donations are very much appreciated! These donation may be dropped off or mailed to the McDowell Board of Education, 334 South Main Street, Marion, NC 28752. Checks should be made out to The Endowment Fund and indicated for Operation Backpack.

McDowell High School Field Construction

Construction work has begun at McDowell High School to redo the track and the field. We have been getting some aerial shots to view the progress. Click the title to see our YouTube playlist of the videos.

2017 - 2018 Teachers of the Year

We are pleased to announce the 2017-2018 McDowell County Schools Teachers of the Year. The following teachers (in last name alphabetical order) have been chosen as the school winners by their respective faculties:

Jennifer Blake, Pleasant Gardens Elementary School
Stella Brewer, Eastfield Global Magnet School
Freida Burleson, McDowell High School
Andrew Denton, Marion Elementary School
Leslie Hester, Glenwood Elementary School
Hank Hunt, Foothills Community School
Christel Merritt, East McDowell Middle School
Benjamin Moore, West Marion Elementary School
Lori Poteat, West McDowell Middle School
Michael Smith, Alternative Education Center
Jessica Sutton, McDowell Early College
Rhonda Tipper, Old Fort Elementary School
Whitney Vance, North Cove Elementary School
Terra Wyatt, Nebo Elementary School

Congratulations to all!

Show All News »


Events Photo
No School-Teacher Workday
Date: 8/21/2017
No School-Professional Development Day
Date: 8/22/2017
No School-Professional Development Day
Date: 8/23/2017
No School-Teacher Workday
Date: 8/24/2017
No School-Teacher Workday
Date: 8/25/2017