McDowell County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
NC Pre-K » Home



McDowell County Schools Preschool Programs


NCPreK is a Pre-K program designed to prepare 4-year-olds for Kindergarten. Acceptance is based on income eligibility and other criteria. NCPreK is a child-centered program providing the highest standard of learning available for 4-year-olds. We currently have a NC PreK in all 8 of our elementary schools and 2 located at Sugar Hill HeadStart.



Notice of Public Meeting


The McDowell County NCPre-K Committee will meet on December 7th, 2018 at 9:00 am in the Conference Room at the

McDowell County Schools Central Office,

334 S. Main Street Marion NC 28752


The purpose of this meeting will be to share updates from the NCPreK Program and approve new sites for the 2018-2019 school year.

Registration for the 2018-2019 School Year will began on January 1st, 2018.  Please call (828) 559-9058 ext 2000 to register your child.