McDowell County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

News and Announcements

Renata Crawley of West Marion Named Teacher of the Year

Superintendent Mark Garrett is pleased to announce that Renata Crawley has been selected as the 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year for McDowell County Schools. Ms. Crawley is on staff at West Marion Elementary. Additionally, MaryAnn Basney has been named the Secondary Teacher of the Year. Ms. Basney teaches Math at East McDowell Middle. Ms. Crawley was in tears upon the news and was happy to celebrate with her students in a parade down the hall led by principal Nakia Carson. She shared “I am so blessed to be a teacher in McDowell County, and I love each and every day with my students here at West Marion.”

Superintendent Garrett, Ginny Rhodes of the McDowell News, Courtney Intres of Wells Fargo, and members of the district staff visited West Marion and East Middle today to make the announcements in front of Ms. Crawley’s and Ms. Basney’s students and colleagues. All of the 14 school winners were honored at the annual Teacher of the Year Celebration last night at VenYou 52 in Pleasant Gardens, which was sponsored again this year by Wells Fargo Bank. Garrett shared with the guests at the event, “Everyone here is worthy of this honor. I want all of you to enjoy tonight’s celebration because, no matter who is announced tomorrow, you are all deserving.”

The faculty at each school in the district selects a school winner each year as part of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction Teacher of the Year process. Each school winner is then judged based on professional portfolio, classroom visit, and an interview with the district selection committee. The district honors an Elementary and a Secondary Teacher of the Year. One of those two is selected as the MCS Teacher of the Year and represents the district at the Regional level.

Ms. Crawley began her teaching career in 1992 as a 4th Grade teacher at West Marion. She currently teaches Science and English Language Arts in 5th Grade. She was most recently a recipient of the prestigious Burroughs Wellcome Career Award for Science and Math Teachers. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education from UNC-Charlotte in 1991.

Ms. Basney earned her BS degree (Magna Cum Laude) in Special Education from Western Carolina University in 2013, with minors in Math and Psychology. She attained licensure as a Math teacher later that summer and joined the staff at East Middle as an Inclusion and Resource teacher. She currently teaches 7th Grade Math. She shared “I love what I do and I am so humbled by this honor.”

Ms. Crawley will represent the district at the NW Regional level in November.
Read More »

2019-2020 MCS Teacher of the Year

The following teachers (in last name alphabetical order) have been chosen as school winners by their respective faculties:

MaryAnn Basney, East Middle
John Beck, Pleasant Gardens
Alicia Burnette, West Middle
Laccarna Carson, MEC
Renata Crawley, West Marion
Tammy Dayton, Nebo
Kayla Fortenberry, Eastfield
Melanie Hamilton, Marion
Andrea Hardy, MAI
Heather Martin, MHS
Kylie McKinney, North Cove
Stephanie Mull, Glenwood
Leesha White, Old Fort
Susan Yergler, FCS

Congratulations to all!
Read More »

Parents of Students with Autism

Come Join Us!
April 16th, 5:30 until 7:00pm

Stop the Melt-Down before it happens!
Speaker ~ Heather Allison, Certified CPI trainer

Strategies for de-escalation – what to do - before, during and after
Workshop is sponsored by Exceptional Children’s Staff

In media center @ Marion Elementary

Food will be served!
Child care provided – Advance Notice Required!
Please call 652-6580 ext. 1203
If you need more information and/or childcare.
Read More »

Buildings and Grounds Committee Meeting

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the McDowell County Board of Education will meet at 12:00 noon on Thursday, March 14, 2019 in the lobby of the McDowell County Schools Central Office, 324 South Main Street, Marion, NC. The purpose of the meeting will be to review a parcel of property. No action will be taken at this meeting.
Read More »

Teachers Attend Advanced Training at NCCAT

Feb. 4-7 Twenty-eight teacher leaders from across all 14 McDowell County Schools participated in advanced training at NCCAT, Cullowhee. With sessions ranging from data use to improv, participants chose workshops that matched their own personal and professional goals. The culminating activity was a presentation of a wide variety of Passion Project Proposals designed by the teachers to solve real needs in the community and will be carried out over the next five months at their schools.
Read More »
RSS Feed